“We the Innumerable” [70′] 4 Lead singers, Chorus, Pierrot ensemble

Scene II from PV score reading at Opera America in February 2020

We the Innumerable has been awarded an Opera America Discovery Grant, Press Release is HERE
About We the Innumerable: After the 2009 presidential election in 
Tehran, Iran, Roya and her husband, Siavash, become targets of the 
state for participating in nationwide protests against the election 
result. Siavash is murdered, and Roya is imprisoned and put under 
extreme pressure to record a confessional stating that her husband 
was a Revolutionary Guard force who was killed by the enemies of
the state. The opera is the heroic journey of an Iranian woman who 
protects the truth in the face of fear and violence.
Indie Opera Podcast Featuring “We the Innumerable” starts at 51:00    Soprano: Corrine Byrne 


Reading From Opera America, February 2020

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photo Credits: Anahita Rouzbeh 
Roya: Corrine Byrne
Siavash: Morgan Manifacier
Maryam & Ensemble: Amal El-Shrafi
Chief Interrogator & Ensemble: Mohsen Namjoo
Ensemble: Thomas Albanese, Carlo Bunyi, Chao Ma, David Mather
Artistic Director: Sara Tarana Jobin (workshop) and Dmitry Glivinskiy (PV reading)
Sound Board & Tech Manager: Samuel Beebe
Stage Director: Harris Doran
Projection Designer: S. Katy Tucker
Featuring translations by Sholeh Wolpe, Sin: Selected Poems of Forugh Farrokhzad.