I-Park Foundation Residency!

This summer, composers Theo ChandlerNatalie DraperMichael GilbertsonNiloufar Nourbakhsh and Octavio Vazquez will spend two weeks at I-Park in an intensely collaborative exchange with the Akropolis Reed Quintet, rehearsing and refining new concert works for a pair of all-premiere performances in Connecticut and New York City.

for more info click HERE

Nilou is among 16 finalists


Submissions were accepted from around the world through December 1, 2017. A panel of composers – including Ashley BathgateFelipe Pérez Santiago, and Mattie Kaiser – helped select sixteen of these compositions to move on to the live performance “Smackdown.” Invoke will perform the compositions in four rounds, and record all finalist pieces.

Kaleidoscope MusArt Concert Series


Happy to announce I have received special citation award for powerful and sincere musical expression of perennial and current, individual and collective humanistic and existential topics: “HbeaRt” for piano and live electronics.

  • Niloufar Nourbakhsh: “HbeaRt” from F I X E D HbeaRt for Piano and Live Electronics/Fixed Audio Media**

** To be programmed in Kaleidoscope MusArt’s 2018-19 concert season.

Woman XXI International Conference in Portugal


Many thanks to Penny Brandt (Connecticut University) and her translator Miguel Campinho for including excerpts from An Aria For The Executive Order as part of her conference paper Harmonic Transgressions: Transnational Activism by Women Composersgiven at the Woman XXI International Conference in Porto, Portugal on 29 September 2017. The lecture also included discussion of work by Tawnie Olson, and Sadie Harrison.

UTCMF: Knoxville, Tennessee

Live Stream is now available for University of Tennessee Contemporary Music Festival 2017: Kocham Trio presents White Helmets, as white as death” 

Eun Hae Grace Oh, flute
Micaela Fruend, viola
Jiwon Kim, violin



A PIANO MINI SERIES – Metropolis Ensemble



World Premiere of “F I X E D” Commissioned and performed by Pianist Erika Dohi alongside works by Andy Akiho, Anthony Davis, and Wadada Leo Smith, as well as Pianist Guy Mintus. For more info click HERE 

Photos by Michael Yu


Online Premiere:

Spark and Echo Arts organization just released the online premiere of “No One is Born Hating Another Person” composed by Niloufar Nourbakhsh. More info HERE. 




Premiere of “America I Got to Know”

Symphony Number One successfully started its third season at Mount Vernon Place on August 23rd, 2017, in Baltimore. So honored that I got to be part of it. Take a look at their upcoming events HERE.

Click HERE for Baltimore Sun preview of the concert